Reflections

River Reflections, 8 x 10″ soft pastel over oil underpainting,
Wallis paper
© 2009 Marianne Post

When I look at the calendar I am in total denial. It just doesn’t seem possible that another year is two weeks away from becoming history. I look back and think of all the things I thought I would accomplish. But after reading Alyson Stanfield’s blog, I realize how much I actually did.

While this is time of the year that I start to ramp up for the months ahead, Alyson reminds us that its not a bad idea to reflect on what was accomplished in months past, and most importantly to do it with a thankful heart. So many times we take for granted the opportunities that have come our way and the strides we have made in our endeavors. At the time, they just seem like the next thing to do. Coincidence? I don’t think so. I am a true believer that when we envision possibilities we become empowered. Take a moment and visit Alyson’s blog. She says it better than I could ever imagine.

This will be my last post for 2009. I look forward to an exciting art filled year ahead and wish you all a season that’s colorful and bright!

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. Katherine Kean Says:

    Wishing a happy and bright holiday season to you too Marianne!

  2. Krista Meister Says:

    Enjoy the holidays, Marianne! Glad you accomplished much in 2009.

  3. loriann signori Says:

    Hi Marianne, This is a beauty! I was wondering if you tested it with the golden mean yet. Have you ever used those calibers?
    Regardless, it has a beautiful soft feeling. Happy New Year!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Loriann:
      I did, with the PhiMatrix software as a test in using the software and with the calibers as a visual in my “Puzzle Pieces” post. There is so much that goes into making a strong painting, this is just a piece of the puzzle. The Golden Ratio is an analytical tool, but totally fascinating.

  4. Loriann Signori Says:

    This one is an absolute beauty! I was just revisiting the pages of your blog and I had to stop and spend time with this one again.
    I was reading today’s post about you move and remind me, where exactly are you moving?

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Loriann: I enjoy how this one developed as well. I recall when on location I originally envisioned a broader scene, but as I worked up a few notans i became obvious to limit my selection. Power in the notans! We are headed to Corvallis Oregon, located in the Williamette Valley, jut a bit over an hour from south of Portkand and about an hour from Newport on the coast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

