Overcoming a Blank Canvas

I ‘ve heard it say that there is no one right way to begin a painting. Every artist approaches his canvas from his or her own direction. It seems like lately I have every excuse in the book to unmotivate me from going into my studio and actually begin to paint. I have thought about revisiting an earlier work and trying something new. Trouble is I can’t decide what the “newness” should be. A different surface, a new underpainting approach, painting with my left hand instead of my right?

Overcoming the paralysis that comes with the notion of possibly making a mess when I need to create art that is marketable is a huge hurdle. I guess I need to get on my running shoes and prepare to make a leap.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

