Are You a Baby Boomer or a…

With a commitment to building a more vibrant blog, I signed up for the 4-week Blog Triage class with Cynthia Morris and Alyson Stanfield. Today’s assignment is to describe the people I want to visit and read my blog.

blogtriage_coverHmmmm. So that brings me to the reason I even have a blog. As an full time artist the mantra I have heard from art coaches for the past few years is “You have to post a blog.” In the far reaches of my mind I think that my target audience doesn’t read blogs. I paint regional landscapes and sell most of my work to clients in their 50’s and 60’s with discretionary income that affords them to collect art and hang my paintings on the walls in their homes. I love connecting with my collectors and I hope that they would continue their interest in my work by stopping by and seeing what I have to say about what’s currently on and off the easel. In some other cranny of my brain I think that artists are the ones who read other artist’s blogs. Of course that’s not a bad thing, at all! In fact I would hope that fellow artists would be intrigued with my art and my process and that my posts share my trials, messes, and success.

I would hope that you who visit my blog are interested in the world around you. That you enjoy my interpretation of the everyday world and what inspires me to paint. Living in Northern California, most of my work is of regional landscapes. Those places that I frequent, places my husband fly fishes, wineries in the area and the hills that I live in and the nearby towns and parks. 

So I need your help. If you are reading this please comment on why your’re reading my blog. A boomer, an art collector, an artist or a …? Or how you got here in the first place.

8 Responses to “Are You a Baby Boomer or a…”

  1. Alyson B. Stanfield Says:

    I’m the art coach who told you to get a blog! 😉

    And it’s great to get other artists interested in your blog. That is a keen stamp of approval!

  2. Marianne Post Says:

    Yes, you are! It just has taken awhile! I value your expertise so here I am, again in class.

  3. joanahamilton Says:

    I guess 54 makes me a tail end Boomer. I am an artist too, and I have a blog and website. It has been a very interesting journey to get where I am with them and my art. It’s something I only started 4-5 years ago.
    I enjoyed reading your blog and your paintings are wonderful. Keep up the great work and happy painting!!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Joan: Similarly, I have been working at my “fine art” for about the past 5 years. Prior to that I was always working for clients, doing illustration and design. I enjoyed my time as an artist in the corporate world, but love the shift in gears working for myself, painting what I love. A whole new set of challenges and rewards.

  4. Barbara Meierhenry Says:

    Marianne,

    I’m reading your blog because I love your work and have discovered that I very much like your writing as well. I began by reading your September blog and found it so delightful to see what you painted while in Oregon. I’ll go back and try to find what you painted on Whidby Island, as I’m fond of that area. Thanks for sending me your blog address!

  5. Lorna Sheveland Says:

    I’ve found your blog while on vacation in the high desert town of San Miguel de Allende—-in the heart of Mexico. Now that I’ve had two classes from you, I am hooked! Your paintings and your words speak of a deep connection to nature. It seems that you feel the trees, the streams, even the rocks seem to speak to you. As a beginning artist, late in life, I feel like I am in catch up mode. Yet, the languid feeling of this town compells me to be patient, so slow down and savor the journey. My pastels and easel are with me, so it is time to return to them, renewed by your spirit. Lorna Sheveland

    Hi Marianne,

    I’m Lorna’s husband. Because Lorna shares herself with me, I am privy now to your work, as well. I find that your paintings are full of love, not just for Nature, but also for beauty as a reason for reverence. I will be accompanying Lorna on her journey as she realizes a part of her only now able to emerge. And as I do, I will anticipate more revelations from your work by which we might experience for ourselves the connection between our capacity to feel beauty and our capacity to heal and be healed from it.

    Bill Blazek

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Lorna and Bill:
      Your words touch my heart in so many ways. First I am so happy that you found my blog and will come along for the ride. The more the merrier! Lorna, I am thrilled that you have caught the passion that art brings to one’s life. I remember being in San Miguel Allende decades ago and was charmed with its quaintness and quiet beauty, then. Enjoy your visit, and what a gorgeous place to be inspired by. As an artist we learn to see beauty in all that surrounds us. We can get so busy in this high paced world of ours that sometimes we need to remind ourselves to slow down and soak it all in. Its the journey not the destination. Seeing with artist eyes is especially rewarding in so many ways as you both so eloquently mentioned.

      Enjoy your trip and safe return home.

Leave a Reply

