Sketchbook Thursday

sketchbook_1
I just finished reading Twyla Tharp’s book, The Creative Habit, Learn It and Use It for Life. I plan to reread it. I love her style of writing, her message and how she integrates exercises to promote a creative lifestyle.

Early on in the book she describes a lost opportunity by novelist Paul Auster who misses out on getting an autograph from his childhood hero, Willie Mays, all because he didn’t have a pencil handy. From then on, Mr. Auster never was caught empty handed. He always had a pencil. He was from then on forever ready to cease the moment. And the question Miss Tharp poses to her readers is “Where’s your pencil”?

For me the answer was easy. I never leave home without one of two things, my camera or my sketckbook. So every Thursday I invite you to follow my casual art adventures. I will be posting some drawings, doodles, or art notes taken from my sketchbook with a story or two about what caught my eye, my inspiration, and what they are all about. Maybe a snapshot or two will accompany them to embellish my story. These are my behind the scenes artistic notes that are probably not great creative endeavors, but for me a passion. I hope they encourage you to find the tool that feeds your creativity.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Sketchbook Thursday”

  1. Marge Bennett Says:

    Hi Marianne, Thanks for reminding me that I want to read Twyla Tharp’s book. I am intrigued by the note above to follow this entry through the RSS 2.0 Feed. Did you do a special link to your RSS feed?
    Hope this question is not out of line.
    I followed your blog during the Triage class and am so glad to find you here.

  2. Marianne Post Says:

    Marge:
    I am not sure what you are referencing in regards to the RSS 2.0 Feed. I did add the Subscribe via a reader as well as via an email option. Is this what you mean?The Blog Triage class was terrific and I already see that I need to revisit the handouts and dive in a little deeper into some topics.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    I mistakenly thought pastels were chalk but learned from your website they are pure pigment. I must check out Tharpe’s book.

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    I also wanted to say I love the colors in your landscapes, my fingers sometimes click the mouse too quickly.

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Linda:
      You are not alone. When I am out painting I often hear, “You do this with chalk!” Pastels are an incredible medium, you can draw with them using linear strokes, apply them in a painterly fashion by using the side of the stick. And then you can mix them with water or mineral spirits to create washes.

Leave a Reply

