If I Had Harold’s Time…

coastal_trail

Coastal Trail, 12″ x 9″
© 2008 Marianne Post

It was over 25 years ago. I heard speaker, Jim Rohn talk about his “friend,” Harold.  I never forgot his story. He was in awe of Harold’s ability to travel, and paint, while continuing his education. Harold was a fisherman, a volunteer. He was also a full time employee. Harold had the time to do it all. If only Jim had Harold’s time, he could do it all, too.

Mr. Rohn went on to point out that Harold’s day was comprised of 24 hours. Just like his, yours and mine. So what was Harold’s secret.

Simple, really. Harold used his time wisely. Harold seized the moment. He looked for opportunities to explore new territory, even in all the old places. He faced his everyday activities with a creative spirit, an open heart as well as an open mind.

Recently, I can across a blog post scripted by artist, Katherine Kean,  Honoring Studio Time. She dealt with the dilemma many artists face, including myself, dedicating time to be in the studio. Notice I didn’t say setting aside studio time. Studio time for an artist is priority number one. It is paramount. It is our work time, it is our livelihood. It is so easy to cave into the demands of everyday life. Friends and family, though well meaning, see studio time as being flexible. We can run the errands or take off on a moment’s notice. But unless we take our time in the studio seriously, no one else will.

So I am becoming like Harold. Not overnight mind you. Remember, I heard about Harold over 25 years ago in a large auditorium. I have calendared in my studio time. It is my time to be creative, time to explore something old in a new way, or just take a creative leap and try something new altogether. It is my time to paint. I also have found that ending my studio time with a “bridge” to the next day is extraordinarily motivating. I leave off, knowing what my next move will be. The next day I have a built in agenda right from the start. I am excited with anticipation. The plan may change once I get going, but the momentum is already in place to get the ball rolling.

I am finally figuring out, it’s not the amount of time I have, it is just how well I use it.

2 Responses to “If I Had Harold’s Time…”

  1. Katherine Kean Says:

    Hi Marianne – I think you’ve hit on a key idea here – that of the bridge to the next day. I can see how that keeps the momentum going. Thanks for mentioning my post!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Katherine:
      The idea of having something to jump start your next move is actually an idea from Twyla Tharps book that I mentioned in an earlier post Sketchbook Thursday. I started doing it about a month ago and it certainly works for me. I can’t wait to get back into the studio.

Leave a Reply

