Sketchbook Thursday No.2


sketchbook032
This past weekend
I had the opportunity to camp in the Sierra foothills. The campground was packed to capacity, but surprisingly very quiet. The weather was perfect, the days warm and the nights cool. On Monday I went for a short 5 mile hike to Deer Lake. I was surprised at how many times I had to cross Deer Creek which was flowing deep and rapid.

creek

 

I never made it to the lake. The ground was covered with enough snow that made the  fourth and final crossing of Deer Creek a bit too treacherous for me to attempt. None the less the views were stellar, the Sierra Buttes majestic. And it was fun to see them from this vantage point. About 4 years ago I had hiked to the fire lookout at the top of the Buttes. Seeing the lookout from this angle gave me pause.

sketchbook034

So I had some time to sketch the mountains and take in the grandeur.

sierra-buttes

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

