Sketchbook Thursday No.4

sketchbook040aThis week I started to reread The Creative License by Danny Gregory. His writing reminded me how curious and fun sketching everyday trivia can be. You know, things like breakfast, the stuff in cabinets and closets. Book filled shelves, the chair we sit in, the first thing we see in the morning can be captured on the illustrated page. It’s all this simple, mundane stuff that we take for granted that becomes an art form.

An illustrated journal can be a gateway to something more grand. Perhaps it would lead to a finished painting on the visual side or maybe a book from one’s literary endeavors. I was introduced to illustrated journaling by Christina Lopp and Gay Kraeger. They offered a one day workshop at Gay’s incredible studio located in the Santa Cruz mountains. How perfect can that be? It was March 8, 2003. I know, because I journaled the entire day and I have date sprinkled among my entries.

I  sketched/journaled for a number of years and then fell out of the routine, using my sketchbooks for more “serious” marks. But now taking a second look at old illustrated entries, I recall sitting and observing the everyday world around me; capturing my observations in small drawings, some simple, some more complex. Sometimes words would grace the page and help define an otherwise “sketchy” sketch. Other times words were simply a list of things to do. Revisiting these journals I see how these marks enriched my life.
sketchbook039a

sketchbook043
So this week I began to journal with drawings once again. Just the simple things, but they tell my story.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Sketchbook Thursday No.4”

  1. Katherine Kean Says:

    Marianne – these sketches are marvelous! They feel very lively. I look forward to seeing more.

  2. Ann Says:

    Wonderful sketches! I would like to get back into the habit of keeping a sketch journal too. (One of the reasons I am taking the watercolor pencil class) Your drawings are inspiring!

Leave a Reply

