Sketchbook Thursday No. 6

They are dark and mysterious. Colorful and fleeting. Cool and warm. Soft and transparent. Strong and crisp. We’re talking shadows.

As I continue to work my way through Danny Gregory’s book, The Creative License I found myself this past week taking his suggestion and just drawing shadows. And while I like to think that I am aware of the significance shadows play in a composition it was fun just to give them my undivided attention. So I devoted a few pages in my sketchbook to capturing the elusive shadow in different ways.

sketchbook060Without a doubt, the surface on which a shadow falls plays a huge part. The color of a shadow that crosses a concrete path changes as the concrete gives way to dirt and then the grass.

And not all shadows are cool. For instance, the shadowed underside of an archway is warmed by the reflected light coming from the sunlight ground below.

I love the radiance of light and color in a painting but interesting shadows are a close second.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

