Sketchbook Thursday No. 12

This week my sketchbook and camera got a workout. Traveling along the Cascade Highway in central Oregon was a real treat. The Cascade range is home to lakes, rivers and streams that are a fly fisherman’s paradise. The mountains are crisscrosesd with trails that can challenge a hiker. And then there are quiet forests that speak of wonder and wild animals!

fallriver_treesA quick sketch of some ponderosa pines along the Fall River.

fallriver_sunsetFall River at sunset.
Planned to paint, but Deet defying mosquitos caused a change in plans.

sparks_lakeSun rising over Sparks Lake. Painted all morning.

mckenzieHiking along the wild and raucous McKenzie River.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Sketchbook Thursday No. 12”

  1. Gabrielle Says:

    That was a QUICK sketch??? It needs to be framed and admired! Beautiful! Although I end up spending most of my time on the coast when I’m in Oregon, I do love central Oregon too. The McKenzie River is so beautiful and wild. Except for the mosquitoes, I’m glad you had a great trip.

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Gabrielle: It is amazing what can encourage you to work fast. Oregon was experiencing some unusually hot weather this past week and the mosquitos were out in full force. While I had all intentions of setting up to paint, my sketchbook became my ally in capturing what I hope to turn will be inspiration for a studio painting,

  2. Krista Meister Says:

    Oh I agree with Gabrielle, love the sketch, can’t believe it was so quick!

Leave a Reply

