Early Risers

morning_glowMorning Glow, soft pastel, 11 x 14″
© 2009 Marianne Post

painting_sparks_lakeMany times I thank my internal clock for the fact that it gets me up and going at the crack of dawn. For an artist this time of day radiates with glow and promise. Recently I spent over two weeks in central Oregon, seizing every opportunity I could to paint spectacular beauty. Morning Glow is a painting I did early one morning on the edge of Sparks Lake near Bend. The air was still. The kayakers had not yet arrived. Smoke from a far off campfire hung over the lake. The morning sunrise was a special pleasure. Life is good. Life as an artist is even better.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

