Around the Corners

around_corners

Last week I had tentative arrangements to paint with a friend. Life happens and plans can change. So I packed my gear and headed out on my own to see what caught my eye. Instead of heading to the lakes, or rivers I decided to visit nearby Suisun City. Ever since I was in Oregon last month I have been itchy to paint harbor life.

The sleek sailboats, cruisers and mini yachts were all there but the piers were quiet and not a soul was to be found. So I took some time and wandered through the town, a place I really hadn’t visited for quite awhile. Redevelopment is obviously very big here. The charming remnants of what I remembered as Suisun are now shoulder to shoulder with towering retail and commercial spaces. Trendy restaurants and R&B lounges promise to open soon.

Fortunately, for the most part, the city appears to have a plan to integrate new construction with old town charm. New deck strewn dwellings are above retail spaces, waterfront homes overlook the harbor parkway, new residential developments remind one of Victorian neighborhoods but with 21st century amenities.

So instead of setting up and painting the harbor, I strolled around town with my sketchbook and some handy half pans of watercolor. I craved “old town” and wasn’t disappointed.

Every corner had a subject to be captured. The morning flew by. I had lunch under an umbrella on the back deck of “Bab’s.” The marina sparkled like an old lady with a glint in her eye. Tables filled up quickly. Lots of locals, and yes construction crews, too.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Around the Corners”

  1. Dianne Poinski Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day! I am inspired to go there and take photographs. Thanks!

  2. Krista Meister Says:

    Marianne, it’s taken me a while to get caught up on others’ posts. Just wanted to say I’m enjoying your artwork and especially love these on location sketches. Love your style.

Leave a Reply

