The Simple Things

pomegranates

Not Just Pomegranates, pastel on Pastelbord, 11 x 14″
© 2009 Marianne Post

Fall is definitely in the air. The days are shorter, the leaves are falling, there are hints of color in the trees, and I can smell wood burning fires in the air. I love it! Crisp apples bulge over their bins at the produce stand, there are squashes I have never heard of, and the corn stalk mazes a”maze” me.

I came across a painting I did four, maybe five years ago when I was studying at the School of Light and Color. A bowl of pomegranates. Yep, It’s a fall thing and I love them! And maybe that’s why I have hung onto it. I enjoy standing over the kitchen sink devouring the seeds and juice of this awkward fruit. I once heard that the real way to enjoy it is to roll it around on a counter to release the juices, puncture a hole in the flesh, stick in a straw and suck out the nectar. On the web there are more ways to tackle this challenging fruit.

It not only speaks of a season I love, but the impact that studying under the tutelage of Susan Sarback had on my career as an artist. I love the colors she taught me to see. Each orb, at first glance, looked the same. Further study revealed the difference in their chroma, values and hue. I learned to see a plain wooden bowl reveal its beauty.

This is definitely not a landscape but a “tablescape” that speaks to me in more ways than one. I sometimes revisit paintings I have done and decide whether to “repurpose” the substrate and paint over them. Not every painting is a keeper. This was a studio study piece. It didn’t even have a title until just now. It is not a great piece of art and its not going anywhere. But it holds a special meaning for me because it reminds me of where I have been, what I have learned, and where I am now, fall ’09. Sometimes the simple things are more complex than we think. Maybe that’s why they deserve our attention.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Simple Things”

  1. Claire M Says:

    I really like this image, and I enjoyed reading your reflection and the history of the image. I too think it is helpful to look back and see how far we’ve come. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Katherine Kean Says:

    I’m glad you’re keeping it – the colors are wonderful, the forms have a calming weight to them, and I love pomengranates!

Leave a Reply

