Small Things

vineyard_shadows

"Vineyard Shadows" © 2009 Marianne Post

I call them “smalls.” After all, 5 x 7″ isn’t very big. I do them just once a year in preparation for the addition to the December show at the Chroma Gallery. Chroma asks its artists to submit paintings no larger than 8 x 10.” Special panels are set up throughout the gallery. The curtain opens with a by-invitation-only preview party, and these small treasures take center stage.

So this past week as I was painting among the vineyards I thought I should get working on my submissions. I finished four 5 x7’s and have some concepts for another four, probably in square formats. I am posting just a couple for now. These are on Ampersand panels and were started with a watercolor wash. They will all be framed in such a way that their diminutive size is dramatized. They are fast, fun and if history repeats itself they sell quickly.

vineyard_retreat
“Vineyard Retreat” © 2009 Marianne Post
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

