I Can Smell It, But Can I Sketch It?

water2

Garibaldi Harbor, Oregon Coast

Ever since I returned from the Oregon coast a couple of months ago, (where did the time go?) I have been thinking about harbors, boats, the smells of the seafood cafes and fish markets. Maybe having just watched The Perfect Storm for the third time also has made an impact on checking out harbor life.

water1

Under the Carquinez Bridge, Crockett, CA

So I meandered to Suisun harbor and then onto Crockett to a place I had actually painted this past summer. I had no intention of setting up an easel, just trying to capture the vulnerability of man and land against the sea.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “I Can Smell It, But Can I Sketch It?”

  1. Katherine Kean Says:

    I really like the freshness and immediacy of these sketches. So, the answer is yes, you can!

Leave a Reply

