Mixed Messages

Okay. Why do we drive on a parkway and park on a driveway? Why do we call it a tv set when we only get one? How do you get off a non stop flight? Funny how we know what we mean but we say it in an incongruous way!

Recently the whole idea of “concept” came up in class when a student was composing a painting. She knew it didn’t feel right but wasn’t sure what was out of sync. I have found that everything I include in a painting has to pass a big question mark, beginning with the format. Last week, painting-a-day artist Lori Signori blogged about  her decisions on selecting vertical, horizontal, and square picture planes and many weighed in on their approach. The thread to her post has continued over the span of a few days. I ask myself “Does it support the emotion, the feeling I want to express?” Then, what do I include or more importantly what do I exclude to solidify my message. What plays the role of the prima ballerina in my painting? What becomes the supporting cast? What color palette will carry the message even further? When do I stop?

The last one is big one for me. How little can I depict? I marvel at the suggestion found in other artists works and somehow when it comes to mine I can’t say “enough” soon enough. I guess we all bring our own personality to our work and I could be the poster child for type A folks. If  “less is more’  is what I am after, then maybe it doesn’t start with the painting. Perhaps it starts with finding a quieter space within myself that ultimately gets expressed in my art. After all mixed messages don’t really make much sense do they?

Tags:

2 Responses to “Mixed Messages”

  1. Loriann Signori Says:

    Hi Marianne!
    First thanks for the mention! It’s an honor to be mentioned on your blog.
    And you bring up mine and many artist’s favorite topic. Less is more…how much can I take out? The power is in simplicity, isn’t it? The question will continue. I will be checking back to see what my wonderful type A friend is “leaving out.”
    cheers, Loriann

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Loriann:
      I have to say you are masterful in your simplification of detail. Your work is filled with mood and emotion, large shapes, great value masses. Capturing the essence is your forte!

Leave a Reply

