The Grass is Really Greener

If you have been following along the past week or so you probably have noticed that I am on a roll with how we use words to get a thought across. Take for instance the saying, the grass is greener on the other side. Well if you stop and think about it, have you ever turned grass over to look at its other side?

Well, around here in Northern California, the grass is getting greener; right side or wrong side, it’s definitely greener. We had one storm come through and the hills have turned their chamber of commerce “gold” to a screaming lush sap green. The orchard trees are bare and look like nature has forsaken them. But the carpet that lies at their feet is thick, lush and vivid. A foil for any artist knowing the power green has in a painting.

So I planned to take a few minutes and sketch the hills from the my studio view. For some reason I took a handful of colored pencils to task. I should have known better, since it takes so long to do anything in colored pencil. But my sketch is what it is. The grass is really greener than I have depicted, but time was slipping away and I had to call it quits for the day.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “The Grass is Really Greener”

  1. Katherine Kean Says:

    Marianne – I like the uplifting feeling the green grass gives.

    I was just talking with someone the other day about how difficult green can be as a color to work with in painting.

  2. Dianne Poinski Says:

    Beautiful Marianne! I don’t believe I ever pondered about what was on the other side of grass – green or not.
    Thanks for the link too. As a photographer who uses pastels on my photographs, I am just beginning to learn and understand color theory. He was able to provide a lot of good information in a short article. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Claire Says:

    This is a beautiful setting and I can both picture it (also being in Northern California) and relate to your description of the current ‘greening’ of the hills. Your picture also has a very peaceful quality to it.

Leave a Reply

