Deep Roots

Boundaries, soft pastel on Ampersand panel, 11 x 14″ © 2009 Marianne Post

The California landscape as we know it today has to include the eucalyptus tree. They are everywhere. Imported from their native homeland of Australia in the 1850’s they were the answer to many entrepreneurial ideas. When you think about it they were ‘very California’ from the very beginning. Shipbuilders, furniture makers, ranchers, pharmaceutical makers and railroad companies all embraced their deep roots and believed they held a promise for prosperity. Somethings don’t pan out as planned or hoped. But an empty promise makes for artistic fodder.

The groves of ‘eucs’ seem to have given way to rows that act as wind breaks or boundary lines across the fields of crops in my neck of the woods. There are so many varieties. Some are stout, others are like a ballerina as their graceful sway gives way to the valley breezes. They have been the subject of many California Impressionist painters including Edgar Payne. So I decided to give it a try. I painted Boundaries, inspired by a few trees that grace the approach to my driveway. How lucky can I get?

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Deep Roots”

  1. kseverny Says:

    its a beautiul painting.
    i like the complexity of it

  2. Marianne Post Says:

    Thanks, Richard. I simplified the remnants of a grove to get my underlying message across. Happy to hear I was at least somewhat successful.

  3. Loriann Signori Says:

    Beautiful soft feeling Marianne. Edgar Payne would be proud. You either have a magnificent driveway or amazing creative ability. I believe it is the second.
    Thanks for sharing about the “eucs” and the Monet turkeys.

  4. Katherine Kean Says:

    Hi Marianne,

    I need to chime in too – wonderful composition, softness, and light!

    I planted a Eucalyptus to have the leaves for their medicinal qualities. My Euc won’t stand up straight and has to be cut down regularly. It always grows right back!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Katherine, it appears that the eucalyptus has more uses than one can imagine, medicinal, deodorizing, mulching, fuel and more. As a child I disliked their fragrance, but now I love it!

Leave a Reply

