‘Tis the Season

There is something about Christmas that brings out the kid in all of us. Just yesterday as I was carving my way through weekday holiday shoppers I came across heads bedecked with felt antler ears, blinking tree earrings, multiple santa caps, jester hats aglow and aglitter, neon happy holiday brooches and ties that were playing jingle bells!

Where do people get this stuff? I suppose in the long run it really doesn’t matter. What was noteworthy was that they were the ones that also had a smile on their face. As I took a breather and sat down for for a cup of tea I couldn’t help put pull out my sketchbook and capture this long lady enjoying her holiday attire. After all ’tis the season! Enjoy!

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “‘Tis the Season”

  1. Claire Says:

    This is a delightful sketch and it sure gave me a chuckle and put a smile on my face. I enjoyed your reflection and can sure identify with your observations about people getting more animated and decorated for the holidays.

    It is great that you were able to slow down and take in the moment… and even capture it in a sketch to remember. I keep trying to slow down… to take in the moment. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Claire, as a fellow artist you know all to well one of the greatest benefits of sketching is to seize the moment. This young girl made me smile the entire time I watched her, and then some.

  2. Krista Meister Says:

    Ahh… the magic of the holiday season! There’s nothing else quite like it. Great sketch, Marianne.

  3. Ginny Stiles Says:

    Seize the moment…that is the ticket. I have been reading a book called Rapt: Attention and the Focused Life by Winifred Gallagher. Have you read it? I heard about it on Robert Genn’s blog a few months ago and since “paying attention” is to me what life is all about…I was attracted to it. Thanks for commenting on my blog today, Marianne. I so enjoyed your blog and have bookmarked it to come back often!!! Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

