Time’s Up!

This is the time of year when resolutions abound, maybe even a few haven’t already fallen by the wayside! This year instead of promises to myself I decided to take a cue from Christine Kane and adopt a word to carry me through the year in all aspects of my life.

Just one.
The problem lie in picking just one word. Simplify, explore, nurture, journey, listen, ask; they all have endless possibilities. For better or worse I decided on “challenge.”

So in the studio this week I decided to challenge myself to doing a painting, start to finish, in an hour or less. At the end of 60 minutes it is what it is. Needless to say, the time flew.

underpainting

I began with a found piece of prepared board from my stash. No telling how long ago I prepared it and I am not  even sure what I had used to make the surface. But heck, this is suppose to be a challenge, remember? It is 8 x 8″ illustration board and perhaps I coated it with just Golden’s Acrylic Ground for Pastel. As I began working with it it had a different feel than my usual pumice mixture I sometimes use.

I chose a scene I had painted previously on a recent plein air excursion, hoping that would help with the time constraints. I did a watercolor underpainting after a quick test with water on the surface to see if the surface would even hold up to this approach, Clock’s ticking, yikes. I dried it with a hair dryer, no time to let nature takes its course.

Bee Boxes, 8 x 8″ prepared surface
©2009 Marianne Post

R-r-r-r-ringgggg!
Time’s up! Not the best painting but a good lesson in seeing what you can do with less time, less detail, less marks.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Time’s Up!”

  1. kseverny Says:

    for the time limit. that is very impressive

  2. Loriann Signori Says:

    Quite beautiful and with a real feel….. no fluff, more mystery. Keep that timer ticking.

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Loriann: There is real value in less time. Brevity and simplicity a mantra that I need to listen to. As a designer by profession, where “deadline” is the operative directive it translates well into capturing the essence.

  3. Wetlands Revisited « e.scape artist Says:

    […] marks is where I left off. Still more to do, but working from memory is challenging (there’s that word again!) and invigorating. Reality  and the clock reminded me that boxes were waiting to be filled. […]

  4. Fire Grate Says:

    “-: I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives up to date information ;;’

Leave a Reply

