Figuratively Speaking

Last Friday I found myself in one of the studio classrooms of a local junior college. I am enrolled in Figure Oil Painting. So what is a pastel artist whose genre is the landscape doing here?

I can’t think of a better way to hone my observational skills than by studying the form of the human body. Really discerning values that ultimately define form is a skill that can always use a tune up. Catching the essence of gesture leads the way to rhythms and a sense of fluidity. All vital talents of any artist no matter what the subject or the medium.

So for the next 18 weeks or so, I will will send 6 hours each Friday (this alone is a test of stamina) seeing, drawing, seeing, painting, seeing and learning. Working in oils for extended periods of time will also be a stretch for me. Maybe even a “challenge.” There’s THAT word again.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Figuratively Speaking”

  1. Sally Chupick Says:

    Hi Maryanne, I’m sure you will enjoy these sessions. I took a life-drawing workshop every Tuesday morning in 2009, and found it very helpful to my observation and composition skills. Hope you get a lot out of it.

Leave a Reply

