Scarce and Precious

January has been a month of distractions. Sick elderly parents, real estate transactions, disclosure forms, meeting, inspections. Studio time has become scarce and precious. But this reminds me of just another reason why I love my medium of choice, soft pastels. In between the distractions I can catch snippets of 20 to 30 minutes of time to head into the studio and paint. Nothing to set up, nothing to clean up, just dedicated painting time.

work in progress

So when the opportunity presents itself I have working on my “rocky start” painting. The problem I seem to be facing now is solidifying what is the star of the show. Is it the rocks or the cascading water? Can’t be both! My original study favored the rocks, but now as the painting is developing I tend to see the water as the main attraction.

So next time in the studio, the rocks are subject to a major rework. Colors closer in values, less chroma.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Scarce and Precious”

  1. asmalltowndad Says:

    Beautiful, the colors and softness come through even with the rocks and action of the falls. Very lovely!

  2. Lorna Sheveland Says:

    Yes, that is the great value of pastels…….no set up time, just a wonderful artistic opportunity always there.

    Love the water as it plays over the rocks.

  3. Marianne Post Says:

    Small Town Guy and Lorna: Thanks for weighing in on what’s currently on the easel. I love the input. Studio time can be a solitude experience, but my blog opens the doors to comments like yours. Truly appreciate the feedback.

  4. Sally Chupick Says:

    Marianne,
    I think this works great as it is. The rock is the major star, and then the water is the next thing my eye goes to, which is the way it should be I think…nothing wrong with a focal point and a secondary focal point…it is creating a nice rhythym and movement. I love the soft colours you have worked with and yet the rock’s value remains strong; it works well.

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Sally: Your comment helped me out. I went back into the studio to tackle what I thought was a problem and found myself liking what I saw. Another pair of eyes is always appreciated. Thanks!

  5. Katherine Kean Says:

    Hi Marianne,

    I envy your medium that allows you to take advantage of time that comes in small snippets as well as the longer stretches.

    I also agree iwth Sally about your focal point and I love how this work has resolved!

Leave a Reply

