Old Habits Never Die

…perhaps they just get buried under the pressures of everyday life. There was a time not very long ago that I drew or sketched just about every day. I can prove it with the cartons of filled sketchbooks I moved this year fron California to Oregon. And then there is the carton of spanking new sketchbooks that I have collected over time, knowing full well they would certainly be put to good use.

Corvallis Arts Center

The Ballerina

So what happened? The last time I purposely sketched was months ago. And while I have always resisted the whole idea of new year resolutions, this time ’round I have this itchy feeling to sketch the year away. So on January 1st I hit the streets of Corvallis to sketch my new hometown. I headed to the center of town to sketch the Court House, but decided that the charming Arts Center building in Central Park was a fitting subject to start a new sketchbook. On January 2nd The Ballerina in the park caught my eye.

It just so happens that artist, Karen Margulis whom I met this fall while plein air painting in Hope Valley, CA started a daily sketching blog. So I thought I would join in her challenge to draw every day. This year expect to see quite a few “sketch” posts here. Why not join us?

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Old Habits Never Die”

  1. karen margulis Says:

    Fantastic sketches! I am so glad that we found each other’s work online. I look forward to seeing your sketches. Thanks for joining me in this challenge!
    Karen

  2. Maggie Latham Says:

    Hi Marianne, so good to see your sketches. I really like the arts centre one. Yes I think it will be a good year for all of us, sketching wise. I’m so glad I found you through Karen’s sketch blog and look forward to looking through your blog and seeing more of your sketches.

  3. Lorna Sheveland Says:

    Great idea…..I will do likewise….some kind of art every day…..it keeps my skills growing and my spirits up!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Lorna: So good to hear from you. I hope your fingers continue to be a bit dusty! I have been taking some time to explore oils, but I have to admit my heart is with the extraordinary quality of the pastel medium to capture luminosity. Send me some images of what you have been painting. I would love to see them.

  4. Katherine Kean Says:

    Hi Marianne,

    I’m happy that this habit is alive and kicking and that your sketchbooks, both old and new, made the move.

    A good resolve – Happy New year!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Katherine:
      So good to hear from you. This has been quite a year, and now I am ready to get on track with dedicated studio time. I have always loved drawing and have felt like something has been really missing for way too long.

Leave a Reply

