Just One Bite

day3030 in 30 challenge, day 30

Temptation, allurement, seduction. I am sure you know what I am talking about. For instance, take eating a donut you know darn well you don’t need. “Okay,”  you say, “just one bite.” Before you know it, you’ve eaten the whole thing.

Leslie Saeta’s 30 paintings in 30 days challenge was sort of like that. The whole idea sounded interesting, actually very tempting. But did I really need to produce 30 paintings for the sake of 30 paintings. The more I thought about it, though, that clearly was not the point. My objective was to have uninterrupted studio time, EVERYDAY.

So I took the bait or the bite and started in with the challenge of a new medium, oil painting with a palette knife. I figured if I just did small, 5×7 paintings of simple subjects I could make a valiant start at mixing color and working with oils. The added bonus, the icing, would be that everyday for 30 days I would be trying something new. Any other time I would have been distracted to pick up my pastels and get comfortable using my usual medium. I have a couple of shows and events coming up and I could easily spend time developing some new work. But I have wanted to play around with oil paint and this seemed like an opportunity that would keep me focused. My pastels would have to wait.

Thirty days and thirty small oil paintings later. I stayed on track and learned a lot. I guess I can say I ate the whole thing. Feels good, actually!

So what’s next? Leslie Saeta, founder of Artists Helping Artists, and creator of the 30 Paintings in 30 days Challenge has some new ideas up her sleeve. On today’s blogtalk segment, Leslie will share the insights from artists who participated in the challenge and talk about the tomorrows in the studio.

Maybe I should order a baker’s dozen and get revved for round two.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Just One Bite”

  1. Carole Baker Says:

    I’ve enjoyed seeing your paintings and writings over the last few weeks. I’ll come back and see how you are doing on round 2.

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Thanks, Carol. I think I am already having withdrawals. During the last month I would figure out in the evening what I would paint the next day. Tonight it seems good to just kick back a bit, but I admit I am feeling guilty. Hope you stay tuned for round two.

Leave a Reply

