New Year, New Twist

dayone_pears

30 in 30 Day One

What better time to start something new than a new year. I signed up for the 30 in 30 Challenge organized  by artist Leslie Saeta. I recently heard Carolee Clark speak about her painting a day experience and was inspired by her dedication to her daily painting project and her studio time. Knowing I wouldn’t stand a chance at painting a painting every day, when Leslie threw down the gauntlet to paint 3o paintings in 30 days, I saw that as doable.

But to throw in a twist I also thought what a great way to try something relatively new, oil painting with a palette knife. I wanted little clean up, no messy brushes,  and no smelly mediums. So today’s efforts taught me a couple of things. A palette knife takes some time to get use to, it feels like painting with a 2 by 4. I don’t have a great selection of knives so perhaps that is something worth investing in. I need lots of paper towels. Color mixed on the canvas is not as easy to control as I thought. I had a difficult time maintaining the values. But it is what it is. Hopefully I can only get better.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “New Year, New Twist”

  1. Peg Says:

    Using a palette knife looks so easy but like you, I found it is a bit more difficult. Still, it is something I’d like to try more often. I should have tried that on the rooster I painted. I really like your pears… maybe I’ll try doing a piece of fruit with a palette knife. I think it will be hard to resist reaching for a brush to smooth things out. And when I mix up that much paint, I need to wear a haz mat suit… I am one messy painter!

    • Marianne Post Says:

      Peg, my hope is that by the end of 30 days I will feel more adept at working with a palette knife and oils. Thought the 30-30 challenge would make me more accountable and help me accomplish this goal. Besides it gives me fodder for future if not daily blog posts. Good luck the challenge.

Leave a comment