Archive for November 26th, 2009

Thankful for Turkeys

November 26, 2009

The Turkeys at Montgeron 1877 by Claude Monet oil on canvas, 174 x 172cm Musee d'Orsay

The Turkeys at Montgeron, Claude Monet
Musee d’Orsay

Yesterday I stepped out onto the hills to do a quick sketch of the wild turkeys that roam the hills. There is usually a flock somewhere to be found. I thought that since Thanksgiving was upon us that I could parlay this into a fitting blog post. Well, wouldn’t you know, there was not a turkey to be found. I usually don’t welcome their presence but I was amazed at my disappointment in not finding a one.

So to wish you a very happy day I can think of no better way than to bow to Claude Monet and his painting The Turkeys at Montgeron. It was commissioned by his patron Ernest Hoschedé in 1877.

As artists and those who enjoy the vision art brings to our lives we have a lot to be thankful for. Enjoy your day!